Conquer your closet-the shoes

pile of ladies' shoes

One of the things that really spurred me into decluttering was all my shoes. I felt like I had shoes everywhere: shoes in boxes under the bed, shoes in my shoe cabinet, shoes on the closet floor, shoes all over the bedroom floor in general. It was crazy!!!

When I started paring down, I had 33 pairs of shoes.  My goal was to get down to 20-25 pairs of shoes. I decided to start by writing down all the different pairs of shoes I had:

  • 5 pairs of flip flops
  • 4 pairs of gym shoes
  • 3 pairs canvas shoes
  • 2 pairs of slippers
  • 2 pairs of hiking sandals
  • 2 pairs of boots (one brown and the other black)
  • 2 pairs of crocs
  • 2 pairs black heels
  • 2 pairs black flats
  • 1 pair brown leather shoes that I call clogs 🙂
  • 1 pair of sneakers
  • 1 pair nicer black sandals
  • 1 pair white heels
  • 1 pair Mary Jane style black shoes with slight heel
  • 1 pair brown sandals
  • 1 pair white sandals
  • 1 pair hiking boots
  • 1 pair Bloch dance shoes

My goodness! It’s seems like even more when I write them all down! Obviously something needed to be done.

First, I targeted any shoes that were in ill-repair. My white sneakers were cheap and the flaps had come out of the bottom which made them uncomfortable to wear. My pair of black canvas shoes were in very similar condition to my white sneakers, so I decided that they both could go.

Alright, down to thirty-one pairs. Next came the duplicates. The weather can get pretty hot where I live, but I do not need five pairs of flip flops. I got rid of three pairs that were uncomfortable to wear and kept my two favorite pairs. Same process went with my two pairs of slippers. Since the purpose of wearing slippers is for comfort, I decided to keep my most cushy pair. Easy decision for sure.

I never wear any of my black heels, so I decided one pair of those could go (another easy decision).

Here’s where things have gotten a bit tricky for me. After some deliberation, I decided that my brown clogs could go. I would typically choose my boots over them, so they weren’t really serving a purpose.

Well, now I’m down to 25 pairs! My shoe cabinet definitely feels more organized now. It’s wonderful!!!

Granted, your shoe decluttering process may look very different from mine, all depending on what you start with and what your goal is. I would love to hear about it in the comment section below.

 

Leave a Reply

