Conquer your closet-the shirts

Man hands reaching out for help from a big pile of woman clothes

After being continually frustrated with how jammed my closet felt, I decided I finally needed to go through my closet.  When I counted all my shirts, the total added up to over one hundred!  Yikes!!!  No wonder that rack seemed so cluttered. I don’t go shopping very often at all, but I had let stuff accumulate for quite a few years.

After about a month of continually going through shirts, the closet is finally in control.  I believe I now have about fifty shirts.  I would still like to get rid of more, but I’m definitely happy with my progress.  Here’s some keys I learned while going through my shirts:

1) This goes for just about anything.  Always remember, stuff is stuff.  It’s meant to be an asset to our lives, not a burden.  You control your stuff, not your stuff controls you.

2) You only need so many shirts!  I started out by getting rid of items that were too small (or even remotely tight, if it wasn’t comfortable, it was a goner!)  In just doing that I was able to get rid of 15-20 shirts.  Attack the easy stuff first. 😉
3) Once you get rid of the too small stuff, go on to stuff you never wear.  I am a t-shirt person.  I always go for the t-shirt with the Bible verse printed on it.  I had a whole lot of shirts that were comfortable and were in good condition.  They even fit.  However, they had been collecting dust in my closet for many years.  I always passed them over.  If you haven’t worn it yet, you probably won’t anytime soon.  Bless someone else.

 

4) What looks good on you?  Keep clothes that look flattering on you.  I don’t look very good in red; it’s just not my color.  I decided to keep a few patriotic red shirts for July, but that’s just about it.  I’m trying to keep the colors and styles that look best on me.  No reason to waste time with anything else!

 

5) Duplicates?  If you have shirts of a similar style, maybe you only need one instead of three.  Give it a try!  I like to have some shirts that I can mow the lawn in, paint, ect.  I realized that I had ended up saving about eight shirts for dirty chores.  I got rid of half, no sweat!

 

6) Sometimes, we keep a shirt because it has some special memories.  But we only have so much room in our closets for those memories.  We have to pick and choose.  I had two t-shirts from the kid’s ministries I served in.  Even though it was hard, I decided one was enough.  I had a t-shirt from an acting company I used to do plays with, but I realized that my old cast pictures taped up on my wall were enough.  The pictures are more valuable.

In closing, going through my shirts was actually a lot easier than I thought it would be! You’ll be surprised at how easy decluttering is once you get going.  Have fun!

Leave a Reply

