Why You Should Buy a Pro-Life Shirt

The pro-life clothing sold by organizations like Live Action is more than just a garment – it’s a message, and you never know what connections you may make through wearing and sharing that message.

I am a pro-life college student who loves to wear my “A Child, Not A Choice” t-shirt around. I am never really sure if people are catching the message, but people are noticing it far more often than I could have imagined .

Last summer I wore my t-shirt to a family Bible conference. Because this ministry is staunchly pro-life, I wasn’t expecting any negative reaction to my shirt, but I was blown away by the reaction I DID receive.

As I was wandering around the lobby, I was approached by a cheerful woman in her mid-thirties with curly black hair. She walked up and said, “I love your shirt!” and we were off to the races. She had never heard of Live Action, and I got the opportunity to share about Live Action’s awesome work with her.

But I was totally unprepared for what she would say next.

Over the course of our conversation, she shared that years ago she had had an abortion. She had woken up in the middle of the procedure and asked the medical staff to stop (which they didn’t). She proceeded to talk about how an abortion means regret for a lifetime.

This woman had moved forward with her life after this painful experience. By this point in our conversation her husband and young children had wandered over and joined her. She has a beautiful family, but it was obvious to me to me that she deeply regretted never getting to meet the child she had aborted.

Thankfully, this woman had received God’s grace and healing. I assured her that as a post-abortive mother she has an amazing testimony to share. I may never see her again, but I was deeply humbled and privileged to hear her story. Abortion has claimed many victims, both babies and mothers, but it is powerful to see mothers having the courage to share their regrets over their abortions.

It’s incredible to me how damaging abortion is, and how people in the church have often experienced this hidden hurt without our knowing. You just never know who has been either directly or indirectly affected by abortion .

I never would have gotten to hear this precious woman’s story if I had not been wearing my pro-life shirt. Wearing a pro-life shirt shows everyone around you that you care deeply about this issue and you’re ready to hear their experiences. You may be helping to change the culture on the life issue, or you may be connecting with someone who already shares your views. Either way, it’s awesome how a simple message on a shirt can make an impact and bring opportunities.

So wear your pro-life gear with confidence! You never know how it might help build connections, and as in my case, you never know what stories it might allow you to hear.

Leave a comment